We celebrate the lives and contribution of:

Carolyn Robinson

Elizabeth Rannefeld

Sandra Bradley

Virginia Lierz

June Smith

Judy Bates

Sherry Sandlin (deceased)
Helenn Rumpel (deceased)

Nancy Scheer (deceased)


GRACE BARKER WILSON AWARD for Distinguished Service is awarded annually at NM State Convention to the AAUW member in New Mexico who has done the most to challenge the status quo for women or to initiate positive societal change through contributions to women’s equity, women’s education, or women’s self-esteem. It is the highest state award that AAUW confers.

1990 Grace Barker Wilson Award Winner
Corrine Wolfe of Santa Fe and Elizabeth Aiello of Los Alamos

2007 Grace Barker Wilson Award Winner
Susan McIntosh of Santa Fe

2010 Grace Barker Wilson Award Winner
Mary Grathwol and Kathy Costa of Santa Fe


2008 Terry Sleight Memorial Award Recipient
Jean Bahr of Santa Fe

2013 Terry Sleight Memorial Award Recipient
Flossie Brown of Santa Fe


The AAUW-NM Legacy of Leadership Award is a biennial award given in even-numbered years to AAUW-NM members for sustained contributions to AAUW’s mission and leadership at the branch, state, and/or national level. This award honors and recognizes members who have provided exemplary and outstanding service and support of the AAUW mission.


2022 AAUW-NM Legacy of Leadership Award Winners 

Nancy Scheer of Santa Fe, Karyl Lyne and Sonja Berg, of Las Vegas